Go West, Young Man!

They say the three most stressful experiences are moving house, getting a job and getting married. I have just done the first of these. Salford to Levenshulme isn’t exactly crossing the River Kwai, but when you’ve been living la vida phobia it’s quite an achievement. 

I lived with a couple in Salford. I knew them before they got together and they are two of the happiest, most sorted people I have ever met. Understandably, after two years together they wanted their own place and I figured it was time for me to move on too. I had an urge to lose myself in the hive of the city. I wish them the best of luck and I will always remember the happiness, laughter and friendship that existed in that house.

It’s sad when people move on but almost always for the best. Possibly this is the kick up the arse I have needed. I didn’t want to go back to my therapist after a three-month break and report no change. So far the lost, disoriented sadness that marks the first days of a new area hasn’t troubled me half as much as I expected. My amazing friend Nina has been in touch and she’s a far more experienced traveller than I. I’ve been walking around and exploring new places in this great city of ours. I don’t know the area at all so have been reading this Lady Levenshulme blog to get to know it better. Sometimes the panic comes but I’m so much better at dealing with it than I was. I may even start experimenting with buses soon.

Tune in next week for adventures in work and marriage!

reddwarf

‘Ah, welcome back on-line, sir’

Leave a Reply

