Can you be arsed?

Whenever I write a post on secularism, I think it will be my last. Surely it’s not difficult to exhaust the limited range of arguments deployed by the pro-faith left and religious apologists in general.

But they just keep producing more moronic articles – like this piece from Madeleine Bunting. She is an easy target in the blogosphere but it has to be said she does come out with some utter nonsense. In this article Bunting displays an astonishingly patronising and Straussian attitude to the poor, and attempts – laughably – to claim Barack Obama for the pro-faith left.

I read it, I felt mildly annoyed – I live in a working class area, and the people I work and drink with have more hope and dignity than can be got from faith.  I thought Bunting’s article could be something to write on the blog about – but then the question: is this worth wasting my time? Can I really be arsed?

Anyway, I let it go, and then I discovered that Five Public Opinions has saved me the trouble. Its writer has done an excellent piece that should be read in full.

And it reminds us why – despite his appointment of the cretinous Rick Warren – us secular lefties still love Obama.

Democracy demands that the religiously motivated translate their concerns into universal, rather than religion-specific, values. It requires that their proposals be subject to argument, and amenable to reason. I may be opposed to abortion for religious reasons, but if I seek to pass a law banning the practice, I cannot simply point to the teachings of my church or evoke God’s will. I have to explain why abortion violates some principle that is accessible to people of all faiths, including those with no faith at all.

madeleine_bunting_140x140

‘But Obama, to take religion from the masses

is to mock their poor empty lives’

One Response to “Can you be arsed?”

  1. Top Stories and Blog Review - 15th Jan – Politics Unlimited | UK politics news Says:

    […] Five Public Opinions dissects Madeline Buntings recent railing against the athiest bus. (hattip: Max Dunbar) […]

Leave a Reply

