You Can Go Home Again

neverleave

I’ve been reading The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – it’s a fantastic book and should never have been labelled young adult fiction.

The action begins in a small town where everyone can hear each other’s thoughts. The town I grew up in is a little like that. The comparison most people draw is The League of Gentlemen, and indeed much of the series was filmed near here. If you’re in Greater Manchester see if you can guess which little town I mean.

Anyway I’m back, I made it back, in a car for the first time in six months. It was hellish scary but not as much as I thought it would be. Think about the reaction your cat has when you drive it to the vet – that’s the Condition.

I was planning to get drunk before getting in the car but my therapist warned against this. She was right – no ordeal is as bad as you think it will be, and every nightmare ends sooner or later.

Now I’m here for a week. I’m not sure how much will be written on this blog because it’s the usual family stuff and piss-up that lasts for several days. And then a new year in which I’m going to make a real effort to get sane. As Roland Deschain said: I’ve come to the head of the last trail, and I need not travel it alone… Mayhap there’s still enough to fill my basket.

Leave a Reply

