First draft

Just finished the first draft of my book – what Stephen King would call the white-hot, all-story draft. Done in seven weeks, mainly writing for a couple of hours in the evenings, more often than not with a glass of wine by my side and Beth Orton or Primal Scream in the CD drive. As with most things I write, it’s been something I have been thinking about for months before I started writing – you don’t even know when you get the initial idea, but you realise you have a story when your mind starts fleshing out the characters, designing scenes, creating lines of prose.

I had been thinking about the book all summer and then, in September, I found that I would lie awake thinking about it and then, on top of all that, I got poleaxed by depression. One night I just said what the hell and began the book. I have not suffered from depression since.

What I’m going to do now is, again cf King, leave it alone until the New Year and then go back to it. Hopefully as King says I will then be its first reader, I will come to it with fresh eyes – it’ll be like something written by a ‘soul-twin’.

On a mental health note I’ve just started cognitive behavioural therapy. It’s custom for service users to rant about mental health professionals, but mine seems fantastic and we had an instant rapport. We’re doing twelve sessions over twelve weeks, I’m apparently an ideal candidate for CBT and there’s no reason for it not to work. The Condition could be kicked into touch by February. Back of the net!

'Taking into account the enormous 'drag factor' of your own mind, sir...'

‘Taking into account the enormous ‘drag factor’ of your own mind, sir…’

One Response to “First draft”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Seven weeks! Congratulations, Max.

Leave a Reply

