‘I am not my mobile phone’

Manchester poet Jackie Hagan has done a poetic response to that Orange ad – you know: ‘I am all the girls I’ve ever kissed…’

It’s always vaguely offended me that such a beautiful concept has been used to sell phones.

Anyway:

I am every one of my brothers star wars figures and the dances i choreogrpahed for them

I am every corner house staff I’ve fancied and the lives I’ve imagined with them

I am everything I’ve ever glued to my face

And everything I’ve got my fingers stuck in

I am every book I’ve not understood

And every diary I’ve wanted to look in

I am every toilet I’ve ever been sick, had sex or cried in

I am not really my mobile phone

Leave a Reply

